Coach of the Year Award Dedication

With Dr. Mike Taube’s blessing

Georgia Cheerleading Coaches’ Association President April Smith is pleased to announce the renaming of the Georgia Cheerleading Coach of the Year award to honor the late Ashley Taube, coach of the Mill Creek Co-Ed Competition team at the time of her death December 20, 2018.  The renaming of the Coach of the Year award is to honor the legacy and love of cheerleading that Ashley Taube exemplified in the course of her career as both a cheerleader and a coach.  Coach Taube contributed to the cheer world in a variety of areas, including as a participant in high school and professionally, and as a high school and All-Star cheer coach.  She coached the Mill Creek competition all-girl team to three state championships, in addition to winning the 2018 Georgia Co-Ed State Championship in Columbus the month before her untimely passing. Her personal commitment to “Choose Happy” will remain an inspiration to all who knew and loved her.  Coach Taube’s contagious enthusiasm for cheerleading and the positive impact she had on her athletes and their parents in fourteen years as a cheer coach will forever be remembered and honored with the renaming of the highest award bestowed by the Georgia Cheerleading Coaches’ Association.

Thank you to our 2018 Coach of the Year Sponsors!

Varsity Spirit

Jacket of Choice


Sparkle backpack

Laundry Mama

Laundry Detergent

Sparkle Sports

Sparkle Jersey

FCA Cheer

Coaches journal and bag

Diverse Funding

4 sets of sheets

Dr. Lynda Waller

2 gift bags

2018 Elizabeth Sanders Carrollton High School
2017 Ashley Taube Mill Creek High School
2016 Shayla Brawner South Forsyth High School
2015 Kelli Wingate Smith Union Grove High School
2014 Mandy Ratliff Starr’s Mill High School
2013 Kelli Stanford Whitewater High School
2012 Sarah Frazier Northgate High School
2011 Amelia Key Troup High School
2010 Penny Davis Mary Persons High School
2009 Carrie Lasseter Thomas County Central High School
2008 Caren Hudson Alpharetta High School
2007 Lin Lindsay EastSide High School
2006 Dr. Lynda Waller Lithia Springs High School
2005 Susan Gordy Carrollton High School
2004 Karen Ellis Johnson County High School
2003 Tina Hester East Laurens High School
2002 Cammie Dalley East Laurens High School
2001 Tami Canale Camden County High School
2000 Brenda Perry North Gwinnett High School
1999 Sue Youngblood Worth County High School
1998 Ginger Starling Shaw High School
1997 Kim Fleming Dawson County High School
1996 Susan Burton Gordon Central High School
1995 Pam Carter Hardaway High School
1994 Mary Williams Southeast Bulloch High School

Elizabeth Sanders

Ashley Taube

Shayla Brawner

Kelli Wingate Smith

Mandy Ratliff

Kelli Stanford

Sarah Frazier

Amelia Key

Penny Davis

Carrie Lasseter

Caren Hudson

Lin Lindsay

Dr. Lynda Waller

Susan Gordy


Karen Ellis

Mary Williams

2017 © Georgia Cheerleading Coaches Association Copyright All Rights Reserved.